Tuesday, August 13, 2013

Virat Kohli and other sports players got Arjuna Award

Indian cricketer Virat Kohli has been given the Arjuna Award, by the Government of India in respect of his contribution to sport. 

Along with Kohli, badminton player PV Sindhu who created history by winning a bronze medal in the recently world badminton championships has also bagged the award. 

The Rajiv Gandhi Khel Ratna award, the highest sporting honor in the country, has been given to ace shooter Ronjan Sodhi, according to a report by NDTV.

The national sports awards will be held in New Delhi on August 29. The winners receive a statue, a mention and a cash prize of Rs.5 lakh. 

The Arjuna Award selection committee was headed by 3-time billiards world champion Michael Ferreira and comprised former India hockey captain Zafar Iqbal, archer Limba Ram, cricketer Ravi Shastri and table tennis player Indu Puri amongst others.

Full Award list:

Rajiv Gandhi Khel Ratna: Ronjan Sodhi

Arjuna Awards:

1.Chekrovolu Swuro (Archery)
2.Renjith Maheshwary (Athletics)
3.PV Sindhu (Badminton)
4.Kavita Chahal (Boxing)
5.Rupesh Shah (Snooker and Billiards)
6.Virat Kohli (Cricket)
7.Abhijeet Gupta (Chess)
8.Gaganjeet Bhullar (Golf)
9.Saba Anjum (Hockey)
10.Rajkumari Rathore (Shooting)
11.Joshna Chinappa (Squash)
12.Neha Rathi (Wrestling)
13.Dharmender Dalal (Wrestling)
14.Amit Kumar Saroha (Athletics)

No comments:

Post a Comment