Tuesday, February 11, 2014

Raina out Pujara in Action for the Asia Cup series announced

India will play against Pakistan, Sri Lanka, Bangladesh and Afghanistan in the Asia Cup to be hosted in Dhaka and Fatullah from February 25 to March 8-2014. Ishant Sharma has been dropped from the Asia Cup and World T20 squads. Yuvraj and Raina have been named in the World T20 squad only.

Raina has paid the price for his patchy form in ODI, as the left-hander has been out of India’s squad for the forth coming Asia Cup to be held in Bangladesh. Pujara has come in the squad instead of Raina, while Ishant has been axed not only from the Asia Cup but also from the World Twenty20 squad.

Yuvraj and Suresh Raina are however, part of the World Twenty20 squad that was named on Tuesday. Stuart Binny, who played in only one ODI in New Zealand, finds a place in both the squads.

Suresh Raina and Ishant Sharma were part of the India squad that was thrashed 0-4 by New Zealand in the ODI series that preceded the ongoing Test series, but surprisingly, they are the only casualties of that humiliation.

Raina, who has scored just one half-century in his last 24 ODI innings, was dropped from the last 2 ODIs against New Zealand, after scores of 18, 35 and 31 in the first 3 games. Ishant Sharma had figures of 9-0-72-1 and 6-0-46-1 in the first 2 ODIs, after which he warmed the bench for the remainder of the series. Ishant Sharma has taken 37 wickets in his last 24 ODIs, but they have come at an average of 30.02 and a high economy rate of 5.81.

Pujara has played only two ODIs, both against Zimbabwe in August 2013, where he had scores of 13 and 0 at the top of the order. Pujara, however, has an impressive List a record with 2947 runs (9 centuries and 18 half-centuries) at an average of 54.57 in 68 matches.

India played only one T20 International in 2013 - against Australia at Rajkot on October 10. Yuvraj blazed his way to a 35-ball 77* as India chased down the stiff target of 202 for the loss of 4 wickets and with 2 balls to spare.

India won the inaugural edition of the World Twenty20 in 2007, but hasn’t progressed beyond the Super 8 stage in the last 3 editions.

Mahendra Singh Dhoni's men will stay back in Bangladesh for the World T20 that opens on March 16. India has been drawn alongside Pakistan, Australia, West Indies and a qualifier in group two.

No comments:

Post a Comment