Thursday, November 14, 2013

Sehwag, Zaheer, Harbhajan Name No BCCI 2013-14 contracts

Zaheer Khan, Sehwag and Harbhajan have been dropped from the Indian cricket board list of contracted players for 2013-14. Tendulkar, who retires on going the Mumbai Test, remains in Group A.

The list has been cut down to 25 players from 37 last year. 

Tendulkar, India captain MS Dhoni, Virat Kohli, Ashwin, Suresh Raina form Group A.
The BCCI will pay them Rs.1 crore for the year.

The axe does not augur well for Zaheer Khan, Sehwag and Harbhajan, who are trying to make a national comeback. 

Yuvraj and out-of-form Gautam Gambhir remain in the BCCI's scheme of things but have been demoted to Group B where a player draws Rs.50 lakh per annum. 

Keeping them company in the grade are in-form Shikhar Dhawan, Cheteshwar Pujara, Ravindra Jadeja, Bhuvneshwar Kumar, and Rohit Sharma. The likes of Dinesh Karthik, Amit Mishra and Ajinkya Rahane are in Group C and get Rs.25 lakh each for the central contract.

The players who do not figure in these lists will be placed in Grade C if they represent India in Tests/ODIs/ T20 Internationals during the season, said BCCI secretary Sanjay Patel in a statement Thursday.

The grade list:

Grade A (Rs. 1 crore annually): Tendulkar, Dhoni, Virat Kohli, Ashwin, and Suresh Raina. 

Grade B (Rs.50 lakh a year): Gambhir, Yuvraj Singh, Pragyan Ojha, Ishant Sharma, Murali Vijay, Shikhar Dhawan, Umesh Yadav, Cheteshwar Pujara, Ravindra Jadeja, Bhuvneshwar Kumar, and Rohit Sharma. 

Grade C (Rs.25 lakh): Dinesh Karthik, Amit Mishra, Wriddhiman Saha, Ajinkya Rahane, Ambati Rayudu, Vinay Kumar, Mohammed Shami, Jaydev Unadkat, and Mohit Sharma.

No comments:

Post a Comment