Monday, February 4, 2013

Clarke wins the fourth Allan Border Medal

Australian captain Michael Clarke won his 4rth Allan Border Medal as the nation cricketer of the year in Melbourne on Monday. 

Clarke, 31, and his precursor as previous Captain Ricky Ponting, are the only players to win the medal, considered Australian cricket most prestigious individual prize, 4 times. The Test and one-day skipper win for the 2nd straight year with 198 votes, ahead of joint runners-up Mike Hussey and 2-time winner Shane Watson, who each polled 165 votes.

Clarke also comfortably won the Test cricketer of the year award, again for the 2nd year in a row, after scoring 1,080 runs at an average of 77.14 in the 9 Tests covered by the voting period, from February 25 last year to January 28 this year.

Watson won the T20 award and also polled well for the one day international honor, which was won by paceman Clint McKay.

Top-order batsman Phil Hughes, who moved from New South Wales to South Australia ahead of the time of year, was named the domestic player of the year, and Queensland batsman Joe Burns was voted the Bradman young cricketer of the year.

No comments:

Post a Comment