Wednesday, June 6, 2012

Today Starting Sri lanka vs Pakistan ODI Series Match

Sri Lanka will look to improve their recent ODI record against Pakistan when they clash in a 5-match series starting in Pallekele on {07-06-12} Thursday.

The World Cup runners-up have lost 5of their last 6 ODI against Pakistan, 4 in the United Arab Emirates last November and one in the Asia Cup in Dhaka in March. The key to Sri Lanka's victory will be a solid batting feat by Mahela Jayewardene’s men against a side that boast a rich diversity in both spin and pace bowling.
The spin trio of Saeed Ajmal, Shahid Afridi and Mohammad Hafeez has proved a handful for the majority rivals, helping Pakistan win 16 of their last 22 ODIs. The pace attack will be spearhead by Umar Gul, Mohammad Sami and Sohail Tanvir, who was drafted into the ODI squad in place of injured batsman Nasir Jam shed.

Sri Lanka will rely heavily on their trusted trio of Jayawardene, Kumar Sangakkara and Tillakaratne Dilshan to test the resurgent tourists, led by middle-order batsman Misbah-ul-Haq.Pakistan will be a challenge and what makes them gung ho is the sort of bowling options available, apart from the specialists, Jayawardene said in front of the series.

The rivals shared the preceding T20 series in the southern town of Hambantota as Pakistan bounced back to draw level after Sri Lanka had win the opening match. Afridi, who scored a brisk half-century and grab 2 wickets in Pakistan's series-leveling win last Sunday, will once again play a central role in the 50-overs-a-side games.

Misbah, who remains the Test and ODI captain despite being dropped from the Twenty20 team, called for a group display from his side to tackle the Sri Lankans. It’s not about 1 or 2 players, the whole team has to contribute, because Sri Lanka is tough opponent anywhere, especially at home, Misbah said.

Pakistan's batting has been bolstering with the return of Misbah and veteran Younis Khan, who was also not part of the Twenty20 squad. The 2nd ODI players will also be played in Pallekele on Saturday before the action shifts to Colombo for the last 3 games on June 13, 16 and 18.
The ODI Players will be followed by a 3-Test series starting on June 22.

Mahela Jayawardene
Tillakaratne Dilshan
Mohammad Hafeez
Kumar Sangakkara
Younis Khan
Dinesh Chandimal
Umar Akmal
Angelo Mathews
Sarfraz Ahmed
Lahiru Thirimanne
Shahid Afridi
Jeevan Mendis
Umar Gul
Thisara Perera
Rahat Ali
Nuwan Kulasekara
Saeed Ajmal
Sachithra Senanayake
Abdur Rehman
Lasith Malinga
Mohammad Sami
Rangana Herath
Asad Shafiq
Upul Tharanga
Aizaz Cheema
Nuwan Pradeep
Azhar Ali
Dilhara Fernando
Imran Farhat and Sohail Tanvir

No comments:

Post a Comment