Friday, March 23, 2012

S A picks three novices to face India

Johannesburg: Three uncapped players were on Friday named in the SA squad to face India in a 1T20 international in Johannesburg on March 30. All-rounder Jacques Kallis is the only player at present in South Africa's Test squad in New Zealand who has been selected.

The match has been billed as a tribute to him.

Titan’s batsman Farhaan Behardien and Cape Cobras wicketkeeper Dane Vilas gained their 1st call-ups at international level, while FAF du Plessis, a usual member of the ODI international side, will be making his T20 international debut. The result to rest the Test players means that AB de Villiers, in his 1st season as South African ODI and T20 captain, will be omitted, in concert with Vice-captain Hashim Amla. Former captain Johan Botha will guide the side.

We are send-off all the players out who are concerned in the present Test match against New Zealand with the leaving out of Jacques Kallis, for whom there are particular situation, said assortment convener Andrew Hudson. They will arrive back home 2 days before the start of the match, having travelled middle across the world, and we don't think they will be in any situation to play an international game of cricket.

We still have a very strong squad for this important match, counting the size of the players who win the T20 international series in New Zealand.

South African squad: Johan Botha (caption), Farhaan Behardien, Faf du Plessis, Colin Ingram, Jacques Kallis, Richard Levi, Albie Morkel, Justin Ontong, Wayne Parnell, Rusty Theron, Lowboy Tsotsobe, Morne van Wyk (WK), Dane Vilas (WK)

No comments:

Post a Comment